Delete your Gmail service

Video of the Day

How to Clean Your Gmail Autocomplete List
About the Author Based in the live music capital of the world, Tammy Columbo continues to work in the information technology industry as she has done for more than 10 years. The account associated with the Gmail or email address remains intact. Did this article help you? This wikiHow will teach how to delete your Google account, which will delete all of your Google data, or your Gmail account, which will just delete your Gmail address and data. If you change your mind, you may be able to get your Gmail address back. Was this article helpful? AlexDupuy that is not exactly correct, at least in

Google Gmail

How do I delete an e-mail account or address?

Go to your Gmail inbox. To do so, enter https: If you aren't logged into Gmail, click Sign in and enter your email address and password before continuing.

This option is in the upper-left side of the Gmail inbox page. Doing so invokes a drop-down menu. Hovering over a contact's name with your mouse will cause a few icons to appear on the far-right side of their name bar. If you want to delete multiple contacts at once, click the checkbox that appears when you hover over a contact's profile image for each contact you wish to delete.

It's the right-most icon you'll see while selecting a contact's name. Clicking it prompts a drop-down menu. If you're deleting multiple contacts, click this icon in the top-right corner of the Contacts page instead. This option is near the top of the drop-down menu. Doing so will remove the contact from your Google Contacts page, effectively removing them from your Gmail account as well. You go into Recently Deleted, but if you deleted it over a month ago, it is truly gone.

Not Helpful 0 Helpful 0. Include your email address to get a message when this question is answered. It should also be noted that with many e-mail services, your account expires if it is not used for an exceptionally long period. To proceed, choose your e-mail client from the list below and follow the instructions.

To close an Outlook. This means that all e-mails and contacts will be permanently deleted as well as any associated accounts e. OneDrive, Xbox, Skype, etc. If you use a Yahoo! Account Key instead of a password, you must first disable the Account Key. Review this Yahoo support document for more information.

If you have children with Yahoo accounts, and yours is the Parental account, you must close the Child accounts first, and the Parental account after. You will automatically re-activate your account if you sign into it again within the "hold period" of 40 days.

This time period is extended to 90 days in Australia and New Zealand and days in Brazil and Taiwan. After this hold period, your account and its associated data will be permanently deleted. These instructions only work with Outlook , , and

Delete Gmail